In 1929, local volunteers began construction on the Ofuna Kannon as a wish for eternal peace. The outline of the statue was completed in 1934, but the advent of the Second World War meant that the statue was left unfinished. After the war, a group led by Takashina Rosen (1876–1968), chief priest of the Soto sect of Zen Buddhism, established the Ofuna-Kannon Association and finalized the current form of the statue in 1960. The sight of the Kannon statue looking over the town of Ofuna from up high is visible even from passing trains and is well loved by many. In 1981, the facility was established as Ofuna Kannonji Temple, with temple buildings added to the complex.
Basic Information
Address |
1-5-3 Okamoto, Kamakura City |
---|---|
Access |
5 minutes walk from the west exit of JR Ofuna Station |
Phone |
0467-43-1561 |
Fees |
Adults: 300 yen (high school students and above) |
Business Hours |
9:00am-4:00pm |
Parking |
*There is no parking lot, so please use nearby coin parking or public transportation. |
Note |
◆Experience [Holy talk] |
Flower Report
Spring | Cherry blossoms, calamus, wisteria |
---|
Additional Information
Kannon’s festival is on the 18th of every month.
Setsubun Festival (around February 1st)